DIY Non-Toxic Deodorant

deodorant

 

Rainy spring days are great for catching up on all those overdue indoor projects on the to-do list.  And at the top of mine- making all natural deodorant!

Did you know that most deodorant contains aluminum, and is linked to causing breast cancer? A dear friend of my family has had first-hand experience with the toxicity caused by metals contained in deodorants. She had severe pain until she stopped using deodorant altogether. Now I am making some of this for her! If you are like me and not wearing deodorant is not an option (Oklahoma Summers… need I say more?), try this simple recipe for a completely natural, toxin-free, and insanely beneficial deodorant! I made the switch and have been using this for a few weeks now – playing outside, gardening, chasing a toddler and ducks and chickens, and work/stress sweat, but thankfully I am still stink-free! (You are probably thanking me too.) 

The best part is that both Lemon and Purification essential oils come in the Premium Starter Kit with Young Living.  Check out this post here about Essential Oils and how you can get started.

Here is my recipe (and I am bad with measuring so I hope it’s not far off):

1/4 cup Arrowroot Powder

1/4 cup Baking Soda

1/2 cup unrefined Coconut Oil (melted to a liquid)

10 drops Lemon Essential Oil (get some here)

10 drops Purification Essential Oil (here)

Whip ingredients together in an electric mixer.  Spoon into a glass jar.

 

That’s it!

I hope you enjoy this recipe.  You will be so happy to have an alternative to toxic deodorants!  Your armpits (and the rest of your body) will be thanking you.

*Note:  I used this recipe while breastfeeding and showed no signs of milk depletion. In fact, some of the aching from nursing actually went away.  I hope it does for you too!

 

Have a happy day!

 

brittneySIG

Leave a Reply

